Rustic Berry Tart

My first summer in Ireland is winding down to a close, but that doesn’t mean that nature stops providing.   Along the winding back roads of the countryside, there are countless vines of wild blackberries, ripening in the warm sun.   After enduring scratches and a few painful, thorny stabs, over 10kg of fruit was picked by my boyfriend and I to make our first ever Blackberry Wine (a separate post will come soon!).  Now it’s my turn to reap some rewards from the Blackberry Harvest.

SONY DSC

Rustic Berry Tart
Recipes inspired by Joy of Baking and Taste of Home

I first created the Pate Brisee following the directions from Joy’s website, however I do not own a food processor, so I incorporated the butter into the flour mixture using a fork.  I’d recommend using a pastry cutter instead, as it would cut down on time spent flaking the butter and make for a more evenly crumbled mix.  I envisioned a perfectly traditional pie, one with strips crisscrossing over the top of a bubbly goop of berries, but unfortunately I am not yet a master of pastry.  After half an hour, the chilled pie crust was ready to roll, and I gently and mostly evenly spread the thickness out in the shape of a circle. The best part about making a rustic crust is that imperfection is greatly encouraged! I also shaped two small hearts out of leftover pastry to place on top of the berries.

While the pastry was chillin’ out in the fridge, I made the tart filling based on Taste of Home’s recipe. Blueberries are expensive in Ireland because they are all imported, so I only bought one punnet (€5) that yielded about 3 cups instead of the 4 called for in the recipe.  Never fear! I thought.  I hopped across the road and collected an extra cup or two of fresh blackberries to make up for it.  Who would really know, anyway? …Besides anyone reading the blog? 😉

If you are picking wild berries, they need to be nice and sterilized.  The way my grandmother taught me was by washing the berries in cold water, then soaking them in a solution of water and vinegar, 1:10, for about 10 minutes.  Once they are washed, you can make the simple tart filling with just sugar, lemon juice, flour and your berries. Don’t forget to wash the top edges of your tart with a beaten egg, or it may brown like mine did!  Patience is a virtue that I don’t have when something so delicious is right in front of me. 😉 

SONY DSC

In 55 minutes, the pie is ready to cool and eat.  We enjoyed this pie with Bourbon-Vanilla Ice Cream, but a little dollop of fresh whipped would also compliment it well.  

Are you making this tart or have a suggestion?  Please leave it in the comments below!  Thank you for reading. 

-Rae

One thought on “Rustic Berry Tart”

  1. yumm..this looks so decadent and yummy! i never knew that freshly-picked berries had to be sterilised, not that i’ll ever have a chance to pick any here in Hong Kong,but it’s nice to know anyway 🙂 thanks for the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

